Vintage Pattern Review – 50’s Blouse with a 70’s Vibe

I’ve had vintage Simplicity 2127 in my stash for a while, but I was torn as to what fabric to make with it.  Since my theme for Pittsburgh Fashion Week was hippie/mod/retro, I thought this blouse was perfect for the look I was going for.  It’s actually a 1950’s pattern, but the style has withstood the test of time so it was perfect for my 1970’s themed outfit.

The top is see through lace fabric, off-the-shoulder style with elastic in the top, bottom and sleeves.  The bottoms I created from a pair of Old Navy jeans that I cut off and added three rows of the same fabric gathered in graduated widths to make bell bottoms.

I think this look is SO cute! It’s a little bit funky and perfect for summer!  I should have had my lovely model wear a flower garland in her hair, but didn’t think of it until it was too late.  😦

Thanks for looking!

 

