Pattern Review – McCall’s 6079

Yea! Spring is here!  Ok, well the weather is still questionable, but I am glad to work on my “stash buster” projects while I wait for the sun.  McCall’s 6079 is for a loose fitting pullover tunic top in either a square or triangular shape with stitched arm openings, peek-a-boo shoulders, and optional belt.

Admittedly, this pattern did not thrill me at first, but I have discovered that tunic tops can be VERY flattering and look great with slacks or skirts.  They can also be sewn up quickly in a array of colors and prints.

I had in mind a jewel tone satin with a V neck and adding some beaded trim, but of course I am ever impatient, so I used a mustard colored rayon with an African mudprint design.  (Sorry, but you can’t see the shoulder openings in the pics.)  The cowrie shell belt seemed to compliment the fabric PERFECTLY!  I hope you agree!

Thanks for looking!

 

