Pattern Review – Retro Butterick 5152 Dressing Gown

Greetings!  Have you missed me?  I’ve missed you, too!  I’ve been SO busy over the last six months (moving to a new home, a new sewing studio and finally cleaning out my stash), that I have not had much time to post, but I am back in the sew of things now and very excited!

I’ve had Butterick 5152 in my vintage-inspired pattern box for quite a while and had intentions on making a dressing gown that was pretty enough to lounge around the house in when I was disinterested in wearing clothes.  (Like, every Sunday afternoon!)  But the red charmeuse in my stash was vying for my attention, so I changed my mind and went for an over-the-top gown with feathers and lace.

The pattern was not too tricky, save the yoke.  It was awful!  I LOATHE hand-sewing!  The feather trim was also a nightmare as the feathers were already attached to a strip of ribbon, but apparently they were glued to the ribbon, so the glue ended up ruining three needles and made the stitches skip. Ugh!  : >(

Otherwise, I ADORE this gown! While it is no good for lounging, it’s perfect for a romantic evening at home with a flute of bubbly!

