Baby Love: Donté

Dontè is my first “big” baby and my second boy.  I LOVE him!  He is so chubby and happy!  I have been thinking about a big baby for a while, and I looked at a few different sculpts before I decided on this one by Donna RuBert.  It is a huge, 9 month size, about 26″ long, with plenty of dimples, rolls and baby fat. Yum!  My original intent was to make this one a baby girl, as I already bought some cute little dresses and trimmings, but both me and my daughter thought when finished he looked more like a boy, so I went shopping (again) for a new layette and named him Donté.

I used curly dark brown hair as I did for Riley, but this time I did buy a better quality mohair.  I am happy to report that it made a BIG difference and it is definitely much more manageable than the other brand.  I also left it a bit longer, so when styled, the curls stay very nicely.  I’m glad.  I was nervous!  I also had a tricky time trying to get his weight just right as I needed him to be cuddly and a bit poseable, but not floppy like a newborn baby would be.

I decided to shy away from baby blue for his layette as I wanted to do something different and it’s hard to find clothes for big babies that are baby-ish.  I think the greens and yellows look great against his skin tone, though, and the ducks are SO cute!  I hope you agree!

What Do You Think?

