Vintage Pattern Review – Simplicity 8247 Halter Sundress

Like many of my fellow seamstresses, I regularly vow not to purchase any more fabric or patterns until I have used what’s already in my stash. That NEVER happens!  As such, I came across this cute simplicity sundress pattern from 1969 and could not resist it.  There are two different bodice styles and it can be created in a knee-length or evening length.  It wraps around the back and ties at the front.  Fortunately there are only four pattern pieces, so this was a breeze to whip up.  So breezy, in fact that I made three versions of it!

Fortunately, no changes to the pattern or construction were necessary.  However, if I make it again, and I probably will, I’ll cut the crossover bodice a little higher as it plunges just a bit low.  I would also steer clear of medium weight fabrics and stick with lightweights as the gathers under the bustline add a bit of bulk.

I happily let the ethnic kente print version go as an acquaintance of mine was in search of a non-traditional dress she could wear for her wedding (awesome!), but the other two have dates with me one hot summer night in the near future (smile).

