Pattern Review – Butterick 5522

I’ve had this pattern and the fabric in my stash for over a year now, and decided that I would finally make time to sew something for myself. I LOVE the sleeve design on this dress. It has a funky little retro feel to it. The body is actually very basic with a scoop neckline and no darts, which is good because the sleeves are a bit tricky to construct. I found a great deal on solid navy and white Ponte de Roma double knit from Fabric.com, so I was pretty happy that I ended up spending about $25.00 for fabric!

I only made minor changes to the pattern and construction. I wanted to be able to wear this to service on Sunday so I added about 3” to the length. I also did not follow the pattern instructions to insert the zipper as I thought it was easier to do a regular centered zipper instead, and I constructed the sleeves from the center section out as opposed to the outer section in as instructed.

My only minor regret (which is what happens when I get excited and rush) is that I did not add a bit of length to the sleeves as well since I am ALWAYS cold! But, bracelet length sleeves are a good excuse for me to go shopping for wrist bling (smile).

