Vintage Pattern Review: Babydoll Nightie

This sweet little nightie set reminds me of something Doris Day would have worn in The Pajama Game (1957).  Cute and comfy, this set was created in a lightweight baby pink flannel.  I really would rather have used a lightweight satin, but couldn’t find one that I really loved, so the flannel was a compromise.

But, I think it turned out cute anyway!  The pattern is a 1950’s Simplicity number 1102.  It has a wide, gathered neckline, short, puffy sleeves and matching panties with elasticized legs.  I trimmed it with white lace and satin bows.  I only made one slight change to the pattern which was to eliminate the front and back seams on the gown.

So sweet, Simplicity even designed a little girls’ pattern that is exactly like it!   Don’t you just love all things vintage?

